LWV Upper Mississippi River Region ILO Annual Members Meeting (virtual via ZOOM)

6:00 - 7:00 pm, Monday, May 29, 2024

Elected Board Officers

Chair Mary Ellen Miller (IA-Metro Des Moines) **Co-Vice-Chair** Nancy-Porter (IA-Johnson County)

Co-Vice-Chair (Vacant)

Secretary Tamara Prenosil (IA-Dubuque)
Treasurer Catherine Franczyk (IL- Wheaton)
Past Co-Chairs Mary & Steve Ploeser (WI-Dane

County)

Communications Director Gretchen Sabel (MN-

ABC)

Committee Chairs

Action: Kay Slama (MN-Willmar)

Nominating: Bonnie Cox (IL-Jo Daviess County)
By-Laws: Nancy Porter (IA-Johnson County)
Audit: Catherine Franczyk (IL-Wheaton)
Program: Mary Ellen Miller/Board

MRN Liaison: Nancy Porter (IA-Johnson County)

https://www.lwvumrr.org

State Appointed Board Members

Iowa: E. J. Gallagher (Blackhawk-Bremer)
Illinois: Lee Ekstrom (McHenry County)
Minnesota: Kay Slama (Willmar)

Missouri: Michelle Croyle (St. Louis)

Wisconsin: Carolyn Mahlum-Jenkins (La Crosse)

State Appointed Alternates/Provisional

Iowa: vacant Iowa: tba

Illinois: Paula Ekstrom (McHenry County)

Illinois: tba

Minnesota: Megan Benage (New Ulm) Minnesota: Colleen Werdien (ABC)

Missouri: Sheryl Eufinger (Kansas City/JCP)

Misssouri: tba

Wisconsin: Nancy Hill (La Crosse)

Wisconsin: tba

ANNUAL MEMBERS MEETING AGENDA

5:30 pm ZOOM opens for social time among delegates.

5:55 pm Certification of Delegates

Sabel

6:00 pm Call to Order/Introduction of 2023-24 UMRR Board

Miller

In Memoriam:

Lonnie McCauley, MN (Founder/Action Committee Chair)

Deborah Ann Turner, IA (LWV US President)

6:10 pm Minutes from May 22, 2023 (requires vote)

Prenosil

6:13 pm Finance Reports (filed for audit): May 2024 Balance Sheet Franczyk

2023-24 Revenues/Expenses (to date) 2024-25 Proposed Budget (requires vote)

6:21 pm By-Laws Revisions (requires vote)

Board

If adopted, each state Board is asked to fill three board positions by July 1st.

6:30 pm Board Nominations (requires vote) Committee

Secretary: two year term
Treasurer: two year term
Co-Vice-Chair: one year term

Nominations Chair: one year term

6:17 pm 2024-25 Program for Action (attached, requires vote) Board

6:55 pm General Announcements

MRN Mini-Grant to tour Pop Art Clean Water Exhibit
Exhibit available to all UMRR member Leagues
June 27-30 LWV US Convention, Washington, D.C.
100th Anniversary Upper MS River Wildlife & Fish Refuge
https://uppermiss100.com

June 1-15 MRN/1Mississippi "Days on the River"

7:00 pm Steven Marking, Riverlorian "A Visit from Will Dilg"

2023-24 Program Schedule

August 7, "2023 Farm Bill Update,"

Duane Hvorka, Nat'l Wildlife Federation

November 6, "Clean Water Act Implementation after Sackett Decision" Rob Lee, Midwest Environmental Advocates

December 4, "CO2 Pipelines: Activism, Coalitions, Legislative Action" Peg Furshong (CURE, MN), Pam Richert (Eco-Justice Collaborative IL), and Jan Norris, (Pipeline Opponent, IA)

February 3, "The Swine Republic" Chris Jones, author

February 5, "St. Cloud Minnesota's Circular Energy Economy,"

Tracy Hodel, City Public Works Director

March 2, "The River Knows," Neil Hamilton, author

April 4, "Clean Water Forever" Robert Hirschfeld, Prairie River Network